Privacy and Policy
Nup is a mobile app, created by NUP TECHNOLOGIES P.C. Nup lets you meet new college students around your state area by joining virtual dorm-room parties.
At NUP TECHNOLOGIES P.C. we care deeply about keeping your data private and secure.
Data Collection and Use
When you sign up on nup, we ask you for a username and a password. Your username is visible to the other users. You need your password to get access or delete your account. In Android devices, you have to verify your mobile phone. This happens to make sure that you have a unique account connected to your phone number. We are not sharing your phone number with anyone and we are not using it to contact you directly.
Nup is an application exclusively for college students. For this reason, you have to verify with your student email address or with your student ID card. We want to make sure that you are going to connect with your real fellow students in a safe space. If we find out that you are using an email address or ID card that belongs to someone else, we have the right to immediately ban your account and “black-list” the email address you used. We are not sharing your email address or your ID’s code with anyone else.
Device and App Activity Data
When you use the app, we automatically collect certain information about your device (such as the type of device, operating system, IP address, and unique identifiers). We use this information to improve the app, create new features, and keep our systems secure.
To help you connect with your real friends, you have the option to give nup access to your address book. This makes it easy to add your friends already on nup. We never save your contacts and never send text messages to your friends.
When you add a friend on Locket, we first look up their phone number in our records to see if they already have an account.
If they do, we present you with the “Add” button. By tapping “Add” you can send a friend request to your friends inside the app. If they don’t, you can invite them by sending them a text message with a link to install the app. We do not automatically message your friends on your behalf. Instead, you have to send the message yourself. This means you're always in control of what messages get sent to your friends.
Keeping our community safe is our default. To make this happen, we are using AI services to prevent users from posting inappropriate pictures or texts before they publish them. You are not allowed to:
You are not allowed to post hardcore sex scenes or pictures that show genitals. Our philosophy supports every movement that does not sexualize certain female body parts and that’s why we are very careful when we have to decide if a certain picture is allowed or not.
pretends to come from someone other than you or is impersonating someone else
is bullying someone or is intended to harass, scare or provoke anyone! We show zero tolerance in such behaviors and we ban such users immediately.
encourages dangerous or illegal activities or self-harm
is discriminating against somebody based on someones sexuality, disability, gender, age, race or religion! We also show zero tolerance to any racist and homophobic behaviors.
infringes other individual’s privacy rights
is illegal, could expose nup to legal liability, or encourages people to get involved in anything which is illegal (for example, drugs, violence, or crime)
is defamatory or violates any third party’s rights, including breach of confidence, copyright, trademark, patent, trade secret, moral right, privacy right, right of publicity, or any other intellectual property right
competes with our Services or is spam
collects user content or information, or otherwise accesses the Services using automated means (such as harvesting bots, robots, spiders, or scrapers) without our prior permission
advertisements for commercial products and Services that are not approved by us and / or perform, advertise and promote any form of structural distribution measures (such as multi-level marketing or multi-level network marketing);
content in which you approach other users in an offensive and/or sexually-oriented way;
How we use your Data
We do not sell, rent, license, or lease your data to third parties. However, we may share it with the following third parties:
Legal and Safety – government authorities or regulators or other third parties where required by law or legal process or to protect our users’, or other third parties’ rights and safety.
If you are an iPhone user, you can delete your nup account anytime. By deleting your account we are immediately removing your phone number, school email, username, IP address, unique identifiers and your photos. If your account has been “Blacklisted”, we are keeping the “Blacklisted” email address, phone number and unique identifier to our “Blacklist’ data store to make sure that our community is safe.
If you are using Android, you can deactivate your account by uninstalling nup Application from your device.